I’M A FATHER: 3 Things I’ve Learned in 3 Weeks

Wow! I am a father to a beautiful three-week-old baby girl. I finally get the awesome but unexplainable feeling one has when becoming a father. My friends have shared about this experience. They would usually say that words couldn’t explain the feeling. I finally get that! The feeling is beyond words, but I will try to articulate 3 things I’ve learned in 3 weeks.

1. Existence is a privilege and not a right.

I don’t want to get too deep here, but I look at my daughter and think wow! You exist, but you didn’t exist 10 months ago.

The concept is a little difficult to wrap my mind around. For me, I have always existed. I do not know any existence outside of the time I have existed. My parents have always existed. Sure, they have birthdays, and conceptually I can understand that they once did not exist. However, I was not there, and I am confined to what I know. What I know is that they have existed all my life. It is interesting to think that if God never brought my wife and me together our little one would not exist. Therefore, existence is a privilege.

2. My wife is a superhero.

My wife showed so much strength, focus, and drive throughout her pregnancy and delivery. She was committed to our little girl from the moment of conception. For her, motherhood began when she saw that first pregnancy test. Immediately she began to care for our little girl. The final days and hours were very tough, but she persevered. I felt so helpless. All I could do was stand by her side and be supportive. She was the rock star.

3. I can love more deeply.

I went to seminary. I studied Greek. I understood Eros, Phileo, and Agape, or so I thought. I looked at my little girl for the first time, and my heart became so full. I would do anything for her and lay down my life without question. This is what unconditional love is. I looked over at my wife. Wow! I thought I could not love her any more than I already did, but my love for her is deeper than it has ever been. Those parent/child stories in the Bible take on a fuller meaning too. My love for my girls is deeper than I ever thought possible. Fatherhood helped me discover this.

Being a Daddy may very well be my greatest accomplishment.

Do you want to be an intentional dad? Take the next step. Subscribe to the HeyDadada mailing list and receive your free copy of The Intentional Dad Toolkit. Share a post on Facebook, and leave a comment on our Facebook page. We would love to hear from you!

Leave a Reply

